How to Add or Remove Drivers

You can use the Tesla app to add and remove permissions for additional drivers who may use your Tesla vehicle. If you add a driver, that driver will have access to most Tesla app features for your vehicle except the ability to add or remove drivers, manage payment methods, purchase upgrades, view charging history and access insurance information. Tesla app features available to the additional drivers include:

  • Vehicle access
  • Service scheduling, review and history
  • In-app messages
  • Vehicle location information

New drivers will need to download the Tesla app and create a Tesla Account before you can add their profile to your vehicle.

Adding a Driver to Your Vehicle

To add a driver to your vehicle, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Tesla app.
  2. Select the vehicle you want to add a driver to.
  3. Tap ‘Security & Drivers.’
  4. Tap ‘Manage Drivers.’
  5. Follow the prompts to send an invitation to the driver you want to add.

Note: You can use the Tesla app to add up to five drivers per vehicle. To access this feature, the primary vehicle owner and the additional driver should both have the latest version of the Tesla app.

Removing a Driver from Your Vehicle

To remove a driver from your vehicle, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Tesla app.
  2. Select the vehicle you want to remove a driver from.
  3. Tap ‘Security & Drivers.’
  4. Tap ‘Manage Drivers.’
  5. Next to the driver’s name, tap ‘Remove.’
  6. Tap ‘Yes’ to confirm.

If you are not the owner of the vehicle, you can remove your own driver access by selecting the vehicle and tapping ‘Remove Access’ at the bottom of the screen.