How to Create or Delete a Tesla Account

Your Tesla Account includes owner resources, guides and important updates. Combined with the Tesla app, you can do everything from remotely monitoring your vehicle to transferring ownership.

Note: A Tesla Account is required to be added as an additional driver to a Tesla vehicle.

Creating Your Tesla Account

When you place your first order, you’ll be asked to create a password for your Tesla Account. Your email address is the email you used to place your order and your password is the password you created after submitting your order.

To create a Tesla Account without placing an order, follow these steps:

  1. Visit Create Account.
  2. Enter your information.
  3. Click ‘Create Account.’
Updating Your Email Address

If you want to change your email address associated with your Tesla Account, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Tesla app.
  2. Tap the menu in the top-right corner.
  3. Tap your name > ‘Personal Information.’
  4. Next to your email address, tap the icon.
  5. Sign in and enter your password to update your new email address.

Note: Email address can only be changed to an email address not already associated with a Tesla Account.

To transfer ownership of a vehicle, follow the ownership transfer steps.

Once updated, your current email address cannot be used to sign in or recover your account.

Deleting Your Tesla Account

You can request to delete your Tesla Account and the associated data at any time.

Note: Once your account is deleted it cannot be recovered.

Before deleting your Tesla Account, you must make sure you:

  • Are not added as a driver for a vehicle.
  • Have removed all active Tesla products.
  • Do not have an outstanding balance.
  • Do not have an active Tesla Insurance quote or policy.
  • Do not have an active Supercharging Membership.
  • Do not have an open Tesla Shop order.
  • Do not have an open vehicle order.

If your account does not meet all the above criteria, you may not be able to delete your Tesla Account.

To delete your Tesla Account and data, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Tesla app.
  2. Tap the menu in the top-right corner.
  3. Tap your name > ‘Security and Privacy.’
  4. Tap ‘Data & Privacy.’

You will receive an email confirmation once the deletion has been processed. Deleting your account may take up to 30 business days to process.