位於美國加州費利蒙的 Tesla 工廠是世界上最先進的汽車工廠之一,擁有近 50 萬平方米的製造廠房及辦公室,占地近 150 公頃。隨著費利蒙市政府近日批准 Tesla 的擴廠計畫,Tesla 公司的工廠規模將增至接近原先兩倍,達到將近 93 萬平方米,可在日後新增數以千計的工作機會。

現今有超過 10,000 名員工在費利蒙工廠工作。在成為 Tesla 工廠前,該設施在 1962 年至 1982 年時屬於通用汽車(General Motor)所有,之後在 1984 年轉至豐田汽車(Toyota)旗下的新聯合汽車製造公司(New United Motor Manufacturing, Inc, NUMMI),直至 2009 年該合作夥伴關係結束。Tesla 於 2010 年購置了這座工廠並進行了全面的改裝。正是該工廠在 2012 年 6 月完成了首部 Model S 的生產。過去該工廠存在照明不佳且空間密閉的問題,為此 Tesla 增設了天窗以提供作業員天然採光,並將地板漆上白色環氧樹脂,以營造乾淨的工作環境。工廠還具備員工訓練中心、自助餐廳和快餐車、健身房、24 小時營業的室內醫療中心以及戶外庭院。

身為加州最大的製車雇主之一,單從 2017 會計年度來看,Tesla 的銷售金額約為 55 億美元,並在加州境內創造了 41 億美元的直接消費金額。同年,Tesla 在加州創造了 51,000 個就業機會,其中包含整個供應鍊內的員工和工作機會。為了實現車輛生產效益的不斷增長,Tesla 專注於確保其員工接受 Tesla 生產流程獨有之進階技能的專業訓練,同時在確保安全性方面積極主動的採取措施。因此,在產量提高的同時,我們也不斷的降低安全隱憂。

隨著 Tesla 持續交付越來越多的車輛給全球各地的客戶,我們始終盡最大努力,確保在費利蒙製造的每部 Model S、Model X 以及 Model 3 車輛,以及其中所含的絕大部分零件,在工藝品質上都能至臻完美。

加州費利蒙 Tesla 工廠設施圖
加州費利蒙 Tesla 工廠設施圖

Tesla’s factory in Fremont, California is one of the world’s most advanced automotive plants, with 5.3 million square feet of manufacturing and office space on 370 acres of land. Following the City of Fremont’s approval of Tesla’s expansion plans in 2016, the company will nearly double the size of the facility to almost 10 million square feet, creating thousands of new jobs in the coming years.

Today, more than 10,000 employees work at the Fremont factory. Prior to Tesla, the facility was home to General Motors from 1962 to 1982, then GM and Toyota’s New United Motor Manufacturing, Inc (NUMMI) from 1984 until the partnership ended in 2009. Tesla purchased the facility in 2010 and extensively remodeled it before the first Model S rolled off the line in June 2012. To brighten what was once a dark, enclosed space, Tesla added skylights to provide workers with natural light and painted the floors with white epoxy to create a clean work environment. The facility also features an employee training center, cafeteria and food trucks, gym, 24/7 in-house medical center, and outdoor patios.

As one of the largest manufacturing employers in California, Tesla stimulated $5.5 billion in sales activity and generated $4.1 billion in direct spending in the state in Fiscal Year 2017 alone. The same year, Tesla also created 51,000 jobs in California, including our employees and jobs throughout our supply chain. To support the ramp of vehicle production, Tesla is focused on ensuring its workforce is trained in the advanced skills unique to Tesla’s production processes, while taking a proactive approach to safety. The result is that while production has increased, we’ve also seen our safety record improve dramatically.

As Tesla continues to deliver more and more vehicles to customers around the world, we always aim for the highest possible level of vehicle craftsmanship, with every Model S, Model X and Model 3 built in Fremont, where the vast majority of the vehicle’s components are also made.

Map of the facilities at the Tesla Factory in Fremont, California
Map of the facilities at the Tesla Factory in Fremont, California