支援

8GB eMMC 召回常見問題

Tesla 將主動召回部分 Model S 和 Model X,以更新軟體以及更換媒體控制單元 (MCU) 中的 8GB 嵌入式多媒體記憶卡 (eMMC)。此次召回僅適用於 2018 年 3 月之前生產的的 Model S 和 Model X ,這些車輛的 MCU 配備有 8GB 嵌入式多媒體記憶卡 (eMMC) ,它們可能會因使用上的耗損造成功能異常。2018 年 3 月或之後生產的 Model S 和 Model X 車輛未配備 8GB eMMC,不受此次召回影響。

我的 Model S/X 是否會受到此次召回影響?
所有車主可以到  Tesla VIN Recall Search 查詢自己的車輛是否受到影響。*
*Tesla VIN Recall Search 目前為英文頁面。

發生了什麼問題?會對我的車輛造成什麼影響?
我們注意到,在 2018 年 3 月之前生產的 Model S 和 X 車輛中,部分舊型 MCU 會因為 8GB eMMC 的使用耗損而造成功能異常。eMMC 支援車輛的中央顯示器,而 8GB eMMC 功能異常可能導致中央顯示器某些功能無法使用或持續性地顯示空白(重新啟動觸控螢幕也無法回復),車輛或會發出警示以通知記憶儲存裝置性能下降。

我的車輛仍可安全行駛嗎?
我們沒有獲悉因這種情況而造成的人員受傷或碰撞事故。如果因為使用耗損而發生功能異常,則有可能導致中央顯示器持續性地顯示空白而且即使重新啟動觸控螢幕也無法回復,或者發出警示,指示記憶儲存裝置已經降級且需要聯絡服務團隊。eMMC 故障不會對車輛行駛造成風險,也不會影響加速、煞車或轉向;但是,如果您的車輛執行的軟體早於 2020.48.12 而且 eMMC 發生異常,則您在 eMMC 功能異常之後駕駛車輛時可能無法使用後視倒車攝影機顯示、外部方向燈照明,以及使用擋風玻璃除霧和除霜控件。

如果您無法使用後視倒車攝影機顯示,請先轉頭目視檢查,然後使用後視鏡和側後視鏡以安全倒車。如果您無法使用外部方向燈照明,則在必須執行轉向操作時請務必格外小心。如果您無法使用擋風玻璃除霧和除霜控件,請採取適當的動作,確保擋風玻璃清晰透亮。您只要立即安裝軟體版本 2020.48.12 或更高版本,即可避免這些風險。如需檢查目前使用的軟體版本詳細資料或完成更新,請造訪軟體更新支援頁面

如果您的車輛執行的軟體版本是 2020.48.12 或更高版本而 eMMC 發生功能異常,您仍可以使用後視倒車攝影機顯示,外部方向燈照明也會正常運作,擋風玻璃除霧和除霜控件將自動預設為自動,並將車廂溫度設定為 22 度 C (華氏 71.6 度),以確保擋風玻璃清晰透亮。截至 2021 年 1 月 22 日,受此次召回影響的所有車輛中有 88% 已經安裝軟體版本 2020.48.12 或更高版本。

此次召回是為了更新軟體還是更換元件?
都是。我們將確保客戶車輛安裝了 2020.48.12 或更高版本的軟體,以避免潛在的安全隱患,並將主動將車上可用記憶體儲存裝置從 8GB 升級至 64GB。

Tesla 是否提供更換元件,更換作業需要多長時間?
Tesla 將檢查您的車輛以確定是否內含 8GB eMMC,如果是,我們會將 8GB eMMC 免費更換為 64GB eMMC。更換後,車輛將維持 NVIDIA® Tegra® 車載資訊娛樂系統處理器。此次召回補救措施不涵蓋以上描述之零件和車況之外的其他車況的診斷或維修。此次召回適用的診斷和維修必須由 Tesla 執行,但不包含先前符合退款資格的維修 (請參閱以下問題以取得退款的詳細資訊)。

完成 Model S 車輛升級大約需要 75 分鐘,完成 Model X 車輛升級約需要 90 分鐘。

這是和 Tesla 的「車載娛樂系統升級」相同的維修程序嗎?
否。安裝 64GB eMMC 仍會保留車輛的 NVIDIA® Tegra® 車載資訊娛樂系統處理器;安裝 64GB eMMC 是此次召回所涵蓋的唯一維修程序,而且有別於「車載娛樂系統升級」。「車載資訊娛樂系統升級」會將車載資通訊娛樂系統處理器改換成 Intel Atom®,同時還包含更換其他元件。

我如何針對此次召回進行預約?
如果您是已註冊的車主,此時您需要採取的唯一動作是確認您的車輛執行的軟體版本為 2020.48.12 或更高版本;如果不是,請安裝最新版本。此時,您不需要立即採取其他動作,您可以繼續行駛車輛。我們將會在有更換零件時通知您。在此之前,除非您收到車輛警示通知記憶儲存裝置性能降低,或者遇到中央顯示器持續性地顯示空白而且即使重新啟動觸控螢幕也無法回復的情況,否則您無須安排 Tesla 服務中心預約。

我已經進行過《8GB eMMC 保固調整計畫》維修。針對此次召回,我需要進行其他維修嗎?
否,此次召回取代《8GB eMMC 保固調整計畫》。如果您的 8GB eMMC 曾經依《8GB eMMC 保固調整計畫》進行更換,則您的車輛不是此次召回的對象,您不需要採取任何動作。

我的車輛生產時間和這些召回車輛的生產時間相同,但我的車輛不在召回清單中。為什麼?
我們的記錄指出您的 8GB eMMC 已經升級過,因此您的車輛不是此次召回的對象。

我之前曾經針對此次召回描述的情況付費維修或更換我的 MCU。我是否可以報銷該費用?
如果您曾經針對此次召回涵蓋的特定零件和情況進行付費維修,則您有資格根據特定條款與條件而獲得退款。我們將在 2021 年 4 月底之前連絡受影響車輛的車主,以提供更多關於退款資格、條款與條件,以及如何要求退款的詳細資訊。

如果我曾經針對此次召回描述的情況而購買「車載資訊娛樂系統升級」,我是否會從 Tesla 收到退款報銷?
如果您曾在 Tesla 服務中心因車輛的 eMMC 使用耗損導致功能異常而付費購買「車載娛樂系統升級」(非付費維修觸控螢幕),則您有資格獲得您進行升級時 8GB eMMC 維修費用同額的退款。有關退款資格、條款與條件,以及如何要求退款的詳細資訊,將會在 2021 年 4 月底提供。

Tesla 為什麼要這麼做?
此次召回的目的是通知您安裝軟體版本 2020.48.12 或更高版本,以解決所有潛在的安全隱患。此外,Tesla 將於此次召回將受影響車輛的可用記憶儲存裝置從 8GB 免費升級至 64GB。

回到頁首

分享

8GB eMMC Recall Frequently Asked Questions

Tesla has decided to voluntarily and proactively recall some Model S and Model X vehicles to update software and to replace the 8GB embedded MultiMediaCard (eMMC) in the media control unit (MCU). This recall applies only to Model S and Model X vehicles built before March 2018 that are equipped with an 8GB embedded MultiMediaCard (eMMC) in the MCU that may experience a malfunction due to accumulated wear. Model S and Model X vehicles built on or after March 2018 are not equipped with the 8GB eMMC and are not affected by this recall.

Is my Model S/X affected by this recall?
All owners can check if their VIN is affected at either the Tesla VIN Recall Search or the NHTSA VIN Recall Search.

What is this issue and how does it affect my vehicle? 
We are aware of malfunctions in some of our older MCUs due to accumulated wear on the 8GB eMMC in Model S and X vehicles built before March 2018. The eMMC supports the vehicle’s center display, and a malfunction of the 8GB eMMC might result in a persistent blank center display that does not recover after restarting the touchscreen, loss of certain functionalities, and/or a vehicle alert signaling memory storage device degradation.

Is my car safe to drive?
We are not aware of any accidents or injuries resulting from this condition. If malfunction occurs due to accumulated wear, it could result in a persistent blank center display that does not recover after restarting the touchscreen, or an alert indicating that a memory storage device has degraded and to contact Service. There is no risk to vehicle drivability if the eMMC malfunctions, including no effect on acceleration, braking or steering, but if your vehicle is running software older than 2020.48.12 and the eMMC malfunctions, then you may lose access to the rearview backup camera display, exterior turn signal lighting on subsequent drives after eMMC malfunction, and access to windshield defogging and defrosting controls.

 If you lose access to the rearview backup camera display, then please perform a shoulder check and use your rearview and side mirrors to safely operate your vehicle in reverse. If you lose exterior turn signal lighting, then please use extra caution if you must perform a turn. If you lose access to windshield defogging and defrosting controls, then please take appropriate actions to ensure windshield visibility. To avoid these risks, simply install software release 2020.48.12 or a newer release now. For further information or support on how to check your current software release or complete an update, please visit our software updates support page.

If your vehicle is running software release 2020.48.12 or a newer release and the eMMC malfunctions, then the rearview backup camera display will remain available, the exterior turn signal lighting will remain functional, and the windshield defogging and defrosting controls will automatically default to auto and set the cabin temperature to 22 degrees C (71.6 degrees F) to ensure windshield visibility. As of January 22, 2021, 88% of all vehicles affected by this recall have installed software release 2020.48.12 or newer.

Is this recall to update software or to replace a component?
Both. The first part of the remedy is to ensure that customers install software release 2020.48.12 or a newer release to address all potential safety concerns. The second part of the remedy is to proactively upgrade, free of charge, the available memory storage on your vehicle from 8GB to 64GB.

Is Tesla offering to replace the component and how long does the replacement take?
Yes. Tesla will inspect your vehicle to determine if it contains an 8GB eMMC and, if present, we will replace the 8GB eMMC free of charge with an enhanced 64GB eMMC. Post-replacement, the vehicle will retain a NVIDIA® Tegra® infotainment processor. Diagnosis or repair for conditions other than the part and condition described above are not covered under this recall remedy. Diagnosis and repairs qualifying under this recall must be performed by Tesla, except for prior repairs that are eligible for reimbursement (please see the question below for more information about reimbursement).

The duration for Tesla Service to complete the upgrade is approximately 75 minutes for Model S vehicles and approximately 90 minutes for Model X vehicles.

Is this the same service procedure as Tesla’s Infotainment Upgrade?
No. Installation of a 64GB eMMC retains the vehicle’s NVIDIA® Tegra® infotainment processor; this is the only service procedure covered as part of this recall and is separate from the Infotainment Upgrade. The Infotainment Upgrade converts the infotainment processor to Intel Atom® and involves the replacement of other components.

How can I make an appointment for this recall?
If you are the registered owner, the only action you need to take at this time is to confirm that your vehicle is running software release 2020.48.12 or a newer release and, if it is not, to install the newest available release. There is no other immediate action that you need to take at this time, and you may continue to drive your vehicle. We will notify you when replacement parts are available. Until then, please do not schedule a Tesla Service appointment unless you receive a vehicle alert signaling memory storage device degradation or are actively experiencing a persistent blank center display that does not recover after restarting the touchscreen.

I received a repair under the 8GB eMMC Warranty Adjustment Program. Do I need additional repair under this recall?
No, this recall supersedes the 8GB eMMC Warranty Adjustment Program. If your 8GB eMMC was already replaced under the 8GB eMMC Warranty Adjustment Program, then your vehicle is not subject to this recall and there is no action that you need to take.

My car was manufactured at the same time as these recalled vehicles, but my car is not listed in the recall. Why not?
Our records indicate that your 8GB eMMC was previously upgraded and, therefore, your vehicle is not subject to this recall.

I previously paid to repair or replace my MCU due to the condition described in the recall. Can I be reimbursed? 
If you previously paid for a repair for the specific part and condition covered under this recall, then you may be eligible for a refund subject to certain terms and conditions. We have contacted owners of affected vehicles. Learn more about reimbursement eligibility, terms and conditions and how to request reimbursement.

If I previously purchased the Infotainment Upgrade due to the condition described in the recall, will I receive reimbursement from Tesla?
If you paid for Tesla’s Infotainment Upgrade instead of paying to repair your previous touchscreen after Tesla Service diagnosed that your vehicle’s eMMC was malfunctioning due to accumulated wear, then you may be eligible for reimbursement up to the cost of the 8GB eMMC repair available at the time of your upgrade. More information on reimbursement eligibility, terms and conditions, and how to request reimbursement will be available by the end of March 2021.

Why is Tesla doing this?
The purpose of this recall is to notify you to install software release 2020.48.12 or a newer release to address all potential safety concerns. Additionally, this recall is to inform you that Tesla will proactively upgrade, free of charge, the available memory storage on affected vehicles from 8GB to 64GB.

Back to Top

SHARE