How to Add or Remove Vehicles in the Tesla App

When you purchase a Tesla vehicle from a third party, you must add the vehicle in the Tesla app to claim ownership of the vehicle and get access to features like Supercharging and roadside service.

Transferring ownership is different than adding a driver. You can add up to five drivers to your vehicle at any time in the Tesla app.

Transferring Ownership

When you buy a Tesla vehicle from a third party or sell your Tesla vehicle, you can transfer ownership of the vehicle to the new owner in the Tesla app.

Adding a driver is different than transferring ownership. Adding a driver will give someone access to the vehicle. Transferring ownership gives the new owner access to all the features of the Tesla app and removes vehicle information and access from the previous owner.

Note: Each Tesla vehicle can only have one owner and one Tesla Account at a time.

Adding a Vehicle in the Tesla App

The process of adding a vehicle in the Tesla app depends on how you purchased your vehicle.

If you purchased your vehicle through Tesla, the vehicle will be automatically added in the Tesla app.

If you did not purchase your vehicle through Tesla, consider asking the previous owner to transfer the vehicle to you directly through the Tesla app.

If you purchased your vehicle through a third party, you will need to claim ownership of the vehicle. To claim ownership of a vehicle, make sure you have access to Wi-Fi and the vehicle, then follow these steps:

  1. Open the Tesla app.
  2. Tap the name of your vehicle in the top-left corner to open the product dropdown.
  3. Tap ‘Add Product.’
  4. Follow the prompts.

You will be asked to enter your vehicle identification number (VIN), upload documents, and submit owner information to claim ownership. Once you’ve finished your request, it can take three to five days for the vehicle to be added to your app.

Note: To access this feature in the Tesla app, make sure you have the latest version of the Tesla app.

Removing a Vehicle in the Tesla App

You can remove a vehicle in the Tesla app if you no longer own the vehicle. Removing a vehicle from a Tesla Account will end all paid subscriptions for that vehicle. It will also remove any incentives earned or held by the original vehicle owner. Removed incentives cannot be restored. Make sure you no longer own the vehicle or you no longer need any access to the vehicle before you remove it from the Tesla app.

To remove a vehicle in the Tesla app, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Tesla app.
  2. Tap the menu in the top-right corner.
  3. Tap ‘My Products.’
  4. Tap the vehicle you’d like to remove.
  5. Tap ‘Remove or Transfer Ownership.’
  6. Follow the prompts.

Note: To access this feature in the Tesla app, make sure you have the latest version of the Tesla app.

If you are transferring vehicle ownership to a new owner, you both will receive an email confirmation once the process is complete. This process may take 3-5 business days. Supercharging credits, upgrades, subscriptions and some other features may not be transferable.

Do not transfer ownership to a new driver unless you no longer own the vehicle. Adding new drivers to your vehicle in the Tesla app takes just a few steps.