Safety & Security Settings

About the Security System

The vehicle security system activates when Cybertruck does not detect an authenticated phone or key and:
  • A locked door is opened
  • The locked tailgate is opened
  • The powered front trunk is opened

When your vehicle detects this, the siren sounds, headlights and turn signals flash, and you receive a notification on your mobile app that the security alarm is triggered. To deactivate the alarm, press any button on the mobile app or tap your key card against the card reader located on the driver's side door pillar.

To enable the alarm system, touch Controls > Safety > Security Alarm. When enabled, Cybertruck.

Sentry Mode and the vehicle alarm system are two separate things: the alarm system works similar to other vehicles (a siren sounds when a locked door is opened), whereas Sentry Mode uses cameras and audio to detect suspicious activity nearby (see Sentry Mode for more information). If Cybertruck is in Sentry Mode, the Security Alarm setting is not available.

PIN to Drive

For an added layer of security, prevent Cybertruck from being driven until a 4-digit PIN (Personal Identification Number) is entered. To enable this setting, touch Controls > Safety > PIN to Drive and follow the on-screen prompts to create a driving PIN.

When enabled, in addition to entering the 4-digit driving PIN to drive, you must also use it to enter Valet mode for the first time and create the 4-digit valet PIN to enter and exit Valet mode. In Valet mode, Cybertruck can be driven without the need for the valet to enter a driving PIN. The PIN to Drive setting is disabled whenever Valet mode is active.

If you forget your driving PIN, touch the link to enter your Tesla login credentials on the PIN to Drive popup, then follow the instructions on the touchscreen.

Informational PurposesAn informational icon, calling your attention
Note
In the unlikely event that your touchscreen is unresponsive, you may be unable to enter the PIN. In this case, first try to restart the touchscreen (see Restarting the Touchscreen). If the touchscreen is still unresponsive, you can still bypass PIN to Drive by turning on Keyless Driving in the Tesla mobile app.

Glovebox PIN

Protect the contents in your glovebox with a 4-digit PIN (not related to PIN to Drive). To enable, touch Controls > Safety > Glovebox PIN and follow the directions on the touchscreen. When enabled, you are prompted to enter the PIN to open the glovebox. Select the toggle to disable and then enter the PIN to remove this added security protection.

If you forget your glovebox PIN, reset it by entering your Tesla login credentials, then follow the directions on the touchscreen.

Informational PurposesAn informational icon, calling your attention
Note
Using a Glovebox PIN allows the glovebox to be opened even when Cybertruck is in Valet mode.

Speed Limit Mode

Speed Limit Mode allows you to limit acceleration and maximum driving speed to a chosen value between 50 and 120 mph (80 and 193 km/h). The first time you use this feature, you must create a 4-digit PIN that you must use to enable and disable Speed Limit Mode. When enabled and the driving speed approaches within approximately 3 mph (5 km/h) of the maximum speed, a chime sounds, the touchscreen displays a message, and Cybertruck sends a notification to the mobile app. You can also touch Security > Speed Limit Mode to enable from the Tesla mobile app. To enable Speed Limit Mode:

  1. Ensure Cybertruck is in Park.
  2. Touch Controls > Safety > Speed Limit Mode on the touchscreen.
  3. Select the maximum driving speed.
  4. Drag the slider to the On position.
  5. Enter the 4-digit PIN that you want to use to enable and disable Speed Limit Mode.
    Informational PurposesAn informational icon, calling your attention
    Note
    If you forget the PIN, you can disable Speed Limit Mode by entering login credentials for your Tesla account.
Informational PurposesAn informational icon, calling your attention
Note
While Speed Limit Mode is enabled, the acceleration setting automatically sets to Chill.
Warning IconA warning icon, calling your attention to a possibly risky situation
Warning
Driving downhill can increase driving speed and cause Cybertruck to exceed your chosen maximum speed.
Warning IconA warning icon, calling your attention to a possibly risky situation
Warning
Speed Limit Mode is not a replacement for good judgment, driver training, and the need to closely monitor speed limits and driving conditions. Accidents occur at any speed and it is your responsibility to drive safely.

Trailer Alarm

When enabled, Cybertruck sounds an alarm if the vehicle detects the trailer is being unplugged while Trailer Mode is active and the vehicle is locked.

Clear Browser Data

You can clear your vehicle's browser data (like you would on a computer or smartphone) by navigating to Controls > Service > Clear Browser Data. This is useful for many situations, such erasing settings or searches from another driver.

Check the boxes on the touchscreen popup to exclude bookmarks and/or history for your convenience.